Indiscreet 2: Jack’s Back by A.C. Katt

Title :Jack’s Back                   Word Count :38,000

Genre : Contemporary Gay Romance

Blurb : Jim Menetti was Reed Davis’s sub until Reed’s old flame Jack came back. Jim picks himself up and makes a life for himself apart from his job at Indiscrete. He even begins to date but then Reed changes his mind.

Jim Menetti had a life at Indiscrete, the Gay BDSM club owned by Bear Drummond and Reed Davis. His life revolves around Reed, his Master, and his position as manager of the Club. On Jim and Reed’s third anniversary, Jack Leary, Reed’s on and off flame comes back and Jim’s relationship with Reed unravels. Jim picks himself up and makes a life for himself apart from his job, he buys a home, makes it a cozy retreat and gets a cat he names Waltzing Matilda. He even has a new love interest, the mysterious Professor Caleb Brickner, an expert in the Spainish Inquisition and medieval torture. Then, Reed changes his mind.

My Review : Sometimes in life,  we are our own worst enemy.  This is definitely the truth in Reed’s case when he makes the biggest mistake of his life by cheating on his loyal sub. Reed had an inkling almost from the moment he talked to Jim that he had let go off the best part of himself.  Reed has allowed his ex lover Jack to come back into his life, thinking that he is his great love. He doesn’t realize that what he has done is to extricate any form of intimacy out of his life. He is floundering without Jim in his life , but he is not sure how to make it right.

 His best friend and master Dom ‘Bear’ is furious with his pig headed stupid best friend who can’t see what’s right in front of him. Bear and his sub Brian helps Jim to put back the pieces of his shattered existence together. Brian and Jim has become the best of friends and this is really great in helping Jim to become self confident in a way he never was. Jim meets the charming Caleb and things seem to be going great until it isn’t. Caleb has a dark undertone to his personality that is not immediately apparent.

Reed feels very relieved when his best friend Bear starts talking to him again. As soon as he meets Caleb , he feels a weird, ominous vibe. He knows he’s jealous of the new man in Reed’s life, but he knows he can’t deny the sense of fear he feels for his ex being around Caleb. Bear suggests that Reed talk to the pyschiatrist Dr. Harris that Brian had used when his childhood abuse was triggered. As much as he doesn’t like this idea, Reed knows that if he ever wants to be a part of Jim’s life , he needs to deal with his emotional barriers. Dr. Harris helps tremendously and  a lot comes to the surface for Reed. Reed is borderline bipolar and rather than share that part of himself with the love of his life, he decided to shut Jim out.

Caleb becomes increasingly possessive and when Jim rejects him, he gets exceedingly violent and kills Jim’s cat. Jim is devastated and fearful. Luckily,  his friends are there to help him through this harrowing time and Reed finally steps up to be the man he was meant to be for Jim. Reed expunges his deep seated demons and purges his soul.

I was really invested in these characters and they really tugged at my heartstrings with the connection that I felt through them . Whatever the first book in the series was missing,  this more than made up for it tenfold. I can’t express how real both Reed and Jim are and this is brought forth through their flaws and faults. I give this my ratings of 5 – bring out the vibrators. 

Favorite Quotes : 1. “Baby, I couldn’t stand by and let something happen to you. I know, you…you have a new life and I’m not part of it. I swear to you as soon as this is over, I’ll leave the area, let you go. But please, let me take care of you this once like you’ve cared for me so many times. I need your forgiveness. I need…to save my soul, baby.” Reed dropped his arms with an abrupt motion and walked over to the glass door. “I held out on you, baby. I shouldn’t have.” Reed sighed. ( The ultimate sacrifice is letting go of someone you truly love in order to give them peace and happiness,  without being the one to share in that happiness with them.)

2. You need to understand, my lover, we are in this together. Whether we be Master and slave, Dom and sub, or partners, you have to know that I love you for all that you are, past, present, and the future we make together. Reed, you are as much mine as I am yours. It doesn’t matter how it’s expressed. I’ll go down on my knees for you forever, if that’s what you need, Reed, just so long as I know you love me.( True love is founded on equality. )

Leave a Reply

